| Academic Search Complete has citations
and full text articles from peer-reviewed journals in social sciences,
humanities, music, education, computer sciences, engineering, language
and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, ethnic
studies, etc. |
| ACM: Association for Computing
Machinery includes magazines and journal articles, conference
proceedings, etc. Only the journal articles are available in full text;
click on Digital Library to search for them. |
| AGRICOLA (from EBSCO) "contains
bibliographic records from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's
National Agricultural Library. Coverage for AGRICOLA dates back to 1970
and includes more than 2.5 million citations." |
| AGRICOLA is the National
Agricultural Library's online catalog and "encompasses all aspects of
agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary
sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and
fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics,
extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and
environmental sciences." |
| American Chemical Society provides
full image articles from dozens of chemistry journals. Click on
search the journals to search for articles. |
| Annual Reviews has
citations and abstracts for biomedical, physical, and social
sciences. |
| Applied Science and
Technology Full Text provides citations, abstracts, and some full
text/full image from over 500 engineering, technology, and applied
science publications. |
| arXiv.org archives preprints in
physics, computer science, mathematics, nonlinear
sciences, and quantitative biology. |
| Astrophysics Data System
from NASA includes abstracts (and some full text) on astronomy and
astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and Los Alamos
preprints. |
| Biological Abstracts covers
international journals in the life sciences from 1980 to the
present. |
| ChemFinder.Com
includes chemical structures, physical properties, hyperlinks to more
information, and links toother databases. |
| ChemWeb.Com "the largest
online chemical community in the world ... combines a huge range of
information for those in research chemistry, the chemicals industries
and related disciplines." |
| CiteSeer.IST is a
"scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses
primarily on the literature in computer and information science" that
provides full text articles. |
| Computer Source provides
the "latest information on trends in high technology ...with abstracts
and indexing for over 150 titles." |
| DISCovering Science
provides comprehensive coverage to a number of scientific disciplines,
but not at an advanced level. |
| DOAJ (Directory of Open Access
Journals) "covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and
scholarly journals." |
| EEVL Xtra cross-searches
20 databases, including content from over 50 publishers, to find
articles, books, technical reports and data, eprints, the latest
research, industry news, job announcements and quality websites, etc,
in engineering, mathematics and computing. It includes some full text
articles. |
| Ei Engineering Village includes
Compendex Web and a variety of other engineering
sources/information. |
| Eighteenth Century Collections
Online has "the digital images of every page of 150,000 books
published during the 18th Century [including] full-text searching of
approximately 33 million pages." Some of the subjects covered are
history, science, philosophy, literature, the arts, and law. |
| Emerald provides full text
articles from hundreds of journals in the fields of criminal justice,
economics, education, engineering, healthcare, librarianship,
management, marketing, and more. |
| Energy Citations
Database "contains bibliographic records for energy and
energy-related scientific and technical information from the Department
of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies, the Energy Research &
Development Administration (ERDA) and the Atomic Energy Commission
(AEC)." |
| Gale Virtual Reference Library
includes subject encyclopedias and other reference books on the arts,
business, education, biological and physical sciences, history and
other social sciences, medicine, and other subjects. |
| GreenFile: This new database
covers alternative fuel sources, energy conservation, global
warming, natural resources, pollution, recycling, and
beyond. Anyone with an interest in environmental issues and who
needs resource material regarding these subjects will find this
database to be an invaluable tool. |
| GrayLIT Network
"provides a portal for over 100,000 full text technical reports located
at the Department of Energy, Department of Defense, Environmental
Protection Agency (EPA), and National Aeronautics and Space
Administration (NASA)." |
| HCI Bibliography "provides a
bibliographic database [of over 20,000 records] on Human-Computer
Interaction." |
| HighWire
Press "is one of the two largest archives of free full-text science
on Earth ... assisting in the online publication of ...[hundreds of
thousands of] free full-text articles." |
| IEEE/IEE Electronic Library Online
has nearly a third of the world's current literature in electrical
engineering, electronics, and computer science, including full text
database of journals, conference proceedings and standards in the
field. |
| Information Science & Technology
Abstracts (ISTA) "indexes journal articles from more than 450
publications plus books, research reports, and conference proceedings
and patents, with ongoing comprehensive coverage of the most important
periodicals in this field." |
| IngentaConnect has millions of
citations and abstracts from more than 28,000 journals. |
| Internet and Personal Computing
Abstracts "provides abstracts and indexing for literature related
to personal computing products and developments in business, the
Internet, the home, and all other applied areas...[from] over 400 of
the most important trade publications, mainstream computer magazines,
and professional journals." |
| IOP, the Institute of Physics,
offers full text physics magazines, full image articles from dozens of
journals, and other physics information. |
| Journal Citation Reports (JCR): Science
Edition is the leading authority for evaluating the impact of
cited references in science and indexes over 5900 international
science journals. |
| JSTOR is a full image database of
back issues of scholarly journals in African American studies,
anthropology, Asian studies, botany, ecology, economics, education,
finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political
science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. |
| Library, Information Science &
Technology Abstracts "is the oldest continuously produced database
covering the field of information science, [and covers such fields as]
librarianship, online information retrieval, information management,
search engines, printed and electronic information sources, the
information industry, scholarly communication, and electronic
publishing." |
| Library Literature and Information
Science Full Text "indexes articles and book reviews of key library
and information science periodicals published in the United States and
elsewhere...Books, chapters in collected works such as conference
proceedings, library school theses, and pamphlets are also indexed." It
also includes full text/full image articles. |
| MathSciNet "is the searchable
Web database providing access to ... Mathematical Reviews and
Current Mathematical Publications, ... produced by the American
Mathematical Society." The latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader (4.x)
should be used for this product. |
| MEDLINE (EBSCO) indexes more
than 4,000 medical journals, published in the United States and dozens
of foreign countries, covering a wide variety of biomedical and related
fields. |
| MTS Lab Training Library provides
samples and interactive training for biology and medical labs,
electrical/engineering safety training, and more. |
| National Council for Science and
the Environment includes online books, Congressional reports,
papers, articles, etc., many of which are full text, from the National Library for the
Environment. |
| Nature Archives provides
complete articles from Nature for the years 1950--1996. |
| Nature Biotechnology
Archives has has complete articles for the period March 1983--April
1998. |
| Nature Chemical Biology "is
a monthly [full text] multidisciplinary journal providing an
international forum for the timely publication of significant new
research at the interface between chemistry and biology." |
| Nature Genetics
Archives includes includes complete coverage for the period April
1992--April 1998. |
| Nature Materials "is a
monthly multi-disciplinary [full text] journal aimed at bringing
together cutting-edge research across the entire spectrum of materials
science, blending physics, chemistry, biology and engineering into an
innovative product." |
| Nature Medicine
Archives has complete coverage for the period January 1995--April
1998. |
| Nature Physics "publishes
[full text] papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas
of physics, pure and applied ...[including] core physics disciplines,
but...also ...a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within
the bounds of physics." |
| Nature Structural
and Molecular Biology Archives includes complete articles for the
period January 1994--April 1998. |
| NIST Chemistry
WebBook from the National Institute of Standards and
Technology |
| NSDL (National Science Digital
Library) "is the Nation's FREE online library for
education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, and
Mathematics." |
| OmniFile Full Text includes
complete content from most of our other WilsonWeb databases, plus full
text biological, agricultural, and legal articles. |
| PrePRINT Network "is a
searchable gateway to preprint servers that deal with scientific and
technical disciplines of concern to DOE. Such disciplines include the
great bulk of physics, materials, and chemistry, as well as portions of
biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine." |
| PsycINFO "contains more than
one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters,
books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of
psychology {and psychological aspects of other disciplines]. Journal
coverage, which spans from 1887 to present, includes international
material selected from more than 1,700 periodicals in over 35
languages." |
| Recent Advances in
Manufacturing (RAM) "is a database of bibliographic information for
manufacturing and related areas," including various types of
engineering. |
| ResearchIndex is a
"scientific literature digital library that aims to improve the
dissemination and feedback of scientific literature." |
| Science & Technology
Collection "contains over 800 leading full text journals" plus
indexing and abstracts for hundreds more, "covering...aeronautics,
astrophysics, chemistry, computer technology, geology, aviation,
physics, archaeology, and materials science." |
| Science of Synthesis Houben-Weyl Methods of
Molecular Transformations "is designed to be the first point of
reference before embarking on further searches, providing a route
through the mass information available in primary literature." You must
allow pop-up windows to open to use Science of Synthesis. |
| Science Direct provides
full image articles from more than 1000 agriculture, arts and
humanities, astronomy, biology, business, chemistry, clinical medicine,
computer science, earth and planetary sciences, economics, engineering,
energy and technology, environmental science, life sciences, materials
science, mathematics, physics, and social and behavioral sciences
journals. Click on either the Publications button or the
Search button to begin your search. |
| General Science Full
Text provides citations and abstracts to British and American
science magazines and journals. It also includes full text/full image
articles. |
|
SciFinder
Scholar SciFinder ScholarTM is a
research discovery tool that allows college students and faculty
to access a wide diversity of research from many scientific
disciplines, including biomedical sciences, chemistry, engineering,
material science, agricultural science, and more!
In order to use this Database, a client software installation is
required on your machine. For further information please contact
the UTPA Help Desk x2020 for more details on how to install the
software on your campus desktop.
|
| SpringerLINK provides
abstracts, full text, and full image articles from journals published
by Springer. The articles/journals are in the fields of computer
science, economics, engineering, law, medicine, mathematics, and life
and physical sciences. Click on search to begin your search for
articles. |
| Web of Knowledge contains
three citation databases - Science Citation Index Expanded,
Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities
Citation Index, which include citations and some links to full text
articles from 1975 to the present. We ask all participants to use the
LOG OUT button at the end of each search session when they are
finished, so that others may use Web of Science. |
| Wiley InterScience
provides full image access to over 400 journals from the Wiley
publishers. Disciplines include business, education, law, and
psychology, in addition to a variety of sciences and engineering. Click
on Journal Search to look for articles. |