N
Click here to locate databases by subject/category.
To go to the complete alphabetical list, please click here.
| NASW Clinical Register "provides a listing of clinical social workers who have met national standards for education and experience." |
| National Archeological Database Reports module "is an expanded bibliographic inventory of over 350,000 reports on archeological investigation and planning, mostly of limited circulation." |
| National Center for Education Statistics lets you search for schools and school districts, and provides a myriad of statistics. |
| National Council for Science and the Environment includes online books, Congressional reports, papers, articles, etc., many of which are full text, from the National Library for the Environment. |
| National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) "contains summaries of more than 180,000 criminal justice publications." Some of these documents are in our 3rd floor microfiche collection under the call number HV 7231 .N4. Use the NCJ number to locate the exact microfiche. |
| The National Security Archive "collects and publishes declassified [U.S. government] documents acquired through the Freedom of Information Act." |
| Natural & Alternative Treatments has "articles on medical conditions, presenting in an evidence-based manner the alternative medicine therapies proposed for use in their treatment...[including information] on herbs and supplements, functional foods, and other alternative therapies such as acupuncture and homeopathy." |
| Nature Archives provides complete articles from Nature for the years 1950--1996. |
| Nature Biotechnology Archives has has complete articles for the period March 1983--April 1998. |
| Nature Chemical Biology "is a monthly [full text] multidisciplinary journal providing an international forum for the timely publication of significant new research at the interface between chemistry and biology." |
| Nature Genetics Archives includes includes complete coverage for the period April 1992--April 1998. |
| Nature Materials "is a monthly multi-disciplinary [full text] journal aimed at bringing together cutting-edge research across the entire spectrum of materials science, blending physics, chemistry, biology and engineering into an innovative product." |
| Nature Medicine Archives has complete coverage for the period January 1995--April 1998. |
| Nature Physics "publishes [full text] papers of the highest quality and significance in all areas of physics, pure and applied ...[including] core physics disciplines, but...also ...a broad range of topics whose central theme falls within the bounds of physics." |
| Nature Structural and Molecular Biology Archives includes complete articles for the period January 1994--April 1998. |
| netLibrary includes reference material, as well as classics. Only one user can look at a specific book at a time. Patrons need to set up an account to "check out" books. |
| Newspaper Source includes "provides selected full text for nearly 30 national (U.S.) and international newspapers...[plus] full text television & radio news transcripts, and selected full text for more than 200 regional (U.S.) newspapers. |
| Infotrac Newspapers includes articles from The Austin American-Statesman, The Houston Chronicle, the New York Times, the International Herald Tribune, the London Times, and other papers. |
| Historical New York Times has PDF images of NYT articles back to 1851 and up to a few years ago. Make sure only ProQuest Historical Newspapers The New York Times is checked off before you begin your search. |
| New York Times Movie Reviews has all their movie reviews since 1983, and selected reviews back to the 1920s. It's free, but you must register. |
| NIST Chemistry WebBook from the National Institute of Standards and Technology |
| NLM Gateway "allows users to search in multiple retrieval systems at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM)," including MEDLINE and other medical databases |
| North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories, "composed of contemporaneous letters and diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives, ... provides a rich source for scholars in a wide range of disciplines." |
| North American Women's Letters and Diaries "is the largest collection of women's diaries and correspondence ever assembled. Spanning more than 300 years, [it] brings the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers" via 150,000 pages of letters and diaries. |
| NSDL (National Science Digital Library) "is the Nation's FREE online library for education and research in Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics." |
| NurseSearch searches the American Nurses Association's NursingWorld web site. |
|
If you have questions about or problems using these databases, please click here. |